Topps Signature Basketball

It seems that I been buying a lot more basketball cards lately. I think I am sub-consciously influenced by the basketball playoffs (some of the best playoff basketball I ever seen) and the poor Mets play. But as usual I will open baseball packs when the Mets win.

Topps Signature Basketball just came out and it is intriguing to say the least. For a $20 pack, you are guaranteed an autograph and for a box you are guaranteed a Tier A auto. I have been on the fence with this product so I bought a pack just to see how I feel about the cards before I buy a box and I bought it from Unet which has been lucky to me as of late.

So this is the pack I got.

topps-signature

Wow in one pack I got the tier A auto of Dwight Howard. It is serialed to 2499, the Rondo and Arenas is serialed to 2325 and the Young parall is serialed to 869.

The Good:

– The Dwight Howard auto. You really can’t complain if you get the box hit when you buy just one pack.
– The price point. At $20 you usually only guarantee autos of Minor leaguers or boring jersey cards.
– Similarly at first glance this product is a lot better than this year’s UD SPx at a similar price point.
– I like the design of the cards. Obviously the base cards are designed for the autographed stickers. The design is simple without all the flash like Exquisite. It makes the auto the focus of the card.
– With this product flooding an already weak market with autographs the prices for basketball singles will probably drop which is good for the buyer.

The Bad:

– Although I like the design for the autos, I don’t like the look of the red parallels. The red borders don’t mesh with the card for me.
– It seems that everything is serialed and the number seems rather random. The base cards are serialed to 2325 and the parallel is serialed to 869. I am used to the serial number to be a round number like 50, 100 or 500 (sometimes one less than a round number) or a number that mean something like the jersey number or the year.
– The autograph is serialed higher than the base card. What’s up with that!
– With this product flooding an already weak market with autographs the prices for basketball singles will probably drop which is very bad for the seller. Lucky I am more of a trader than a seller.

I would probably buy a box of Topps Signature Basketball but I would probably wait for the price of a box to drop. I already got burned with UD SPx basketball.

1 Comment

Filed under Collectibles

One response to “Topps Signature Basketball

  1. Pingback: Topps Signature Basketball Pack 2 « Shot Not Taken

Leave a Reply

