Blaster Break: 2009 Donruss Americana

Until the Mets starting shaping up, I don’t think I can watch another game. The games are become way to stressful as the Mets seems to find new ways to lose every time they step onto the field. It is truly painful to watch especially getting swept by the Phillies this weekend.

Anyways, I went to Target the other day and I just had to go to the card aisle. I ended up getting a 2009 Donruss Americana blaster making me one of the few card bloggers opening this product. So the blaster has 8 packs and 5 cards per pack. Fingers crossed for anything Jackie Chan.

Americana Blaster

Pack 1:
Erin Gray
Charlie Daniels
Michael Madsen
Teddy Gentry
Robert Vaughn

Pack 2:
Marc McClure
Michael Boatman
Ron Palillo
Annette Charles
Mickey Dolenz

The Monkees Guy

Pack 3:
Corbin Bleu- Ehh
Dylan McDermott
Diana Farr
Daniel Logan
Bridgette Wilson- Sampras

Pack 4:
Chazz Palminteri
John Cusack
Jeffrey Tambor
Albert Brooks
Lauren Bacall

Pack 5:
Taryn Manning
Julia- Louis- Dreyfus
James Duval
Jon Provost
Elena Verdugo

Pack 6:
Robert Hegyes
Vicki Lawrence TV Stars 470/1000
Meredith Salenger
Gary Sinise
Alan Ruck

Vicki Lawerence

Pack 7:
Deborah Shelton
Lorna Luft
Eric Roberts
Jordan Ladd
Piper Laurie

Pack 8: The thickest pack which I saved for last
Nadine Velazquez
Marica Gay Harden
Cary Grant Movie Poster Memorabilia 245/500
Debi Mazar
Edd Byrnes
Barry Bostwick

Cary Grant

Not even a Jackie Chan base card and I have to read some of the backs to find out who these “celebrities” are. Although it was fun, with my brother, to guess the accomplishments of people we vaguely remember. The Cary Grant memorabilia card is pretty cool. The like the full movie poster front and the memorabilia in the back. I tried building the set last year and I am still missing seven cards from the second series (122, 128, 136, 160, 164, 185 and 189) but I really don’t think it is worth building the set this year. Still the base cards and the hits look a lot to better than last year. It doesn’t feel as cheap. All in all I wasn’t too impressed with the product until the last pack. I went from “I totally got ripped off” to being mostly indifferent. But I fully understand that Donruss Americana is a hit or miss product.

2 Comments

Filed under Collectibles

2 responses to “Blaster Break: 2009 Donruss Americana

  1. Its a who’s who of Nick at Night reruns. Im interested in our Cary Grant. Lets trade!

    Mojo

  2. Pingback: Random Blaster Break: Leaf The Living Legend Pete Rose + 2009 Donruss Americana | Shot Not Taken

Leave a Reply

