Random Box Break: Rittenhouse Batman Archives

I wanted to treat myself to a box of something and I was getting kind of tired of getting game used cards and autographs of fringe players so I picked up a box of Batman Archives by Rittenhouse. I probably could have gotten cheaper online but got to help out the local card store and plus I didn’t want to wait. There are 24 packs, 5 cards per pack with a guarantee color sketch card. Brian Kong is my favorite sketch artist and he might be in the set so fingers crossed.

I got everything together so let it rip… gently.

Batman Archives

The breakdown:
Base cards: 1 complete set (63/63), (49/63) of another set and no triples
Gum Card Insert: 1,3,4,8
Dark Victory Insert: 5,9

batman cards_0001

Lenticular: Riddler
batman cards_0002

Sketch Card- Batcycle
batman cards_0003

The base cards are of famous Batman covers and the back is just a closeup of the same cover with the date of the comic. I am a little disappointed that the cards don’t have a little synopsis. The Dark Victory inserts are stunning. The lenticular of the Riddler is not bad but the sketch of the Batcycle, drawn by I think Samicler, was not what I was expecting. I was hoping to get either the Batman, The Comish, Harley Quinn or Poison Ivy. Overall a little disappointing and I give it about a C.

For the comic book readers out there, spoiler alert.

Batman was getting kind of stale but the latest Batman arc with Bruce Wayne “dead” and with Dick Grayson taking over, is peaking my interest again. The Batman and Robin series by Grant Morrison is particularly awesome and I can’t wait to finish it.

7 Comments

Filed under Collectibles

7 responses to “Random Box Break: Rittenhouse Batman Archives

  1. lonestarr

    Is it fair to say that a sketch card of an inanimate object pretty much equals a fringe player hit? Very nicely drawn at least. I’ve been contemplating picking up a box since they’re always on weekend special at Blowout, but haven’t pulled the trigger yet.

  2. Yea mediocrity seems to follow me when comes to collecting.

  3. lonestarr

    It’s not so bad though. At least if that comparison fits, then your fringe player jersey is a nicely one with a great design. 😛

  4. lonestarr

    Ack, the typos!

  5. Pingback: Halloween Break: Monsterwax Urban Legends « Shot Not Taken

  6. Pingback: My Firsts: Autograph & Memorabilia Card Pulls Edition « Shot Not Taken

  7. Pingback: Random Box Break: Rittenhouse Marvel’s Dangerous Divas! | Shot Not Taken

Leave a Reply

