CotG: 1988 Topps Big

I was switching around tonight so I admit I missed most of the game. But here’s what I know. As far as I can tell, Parnell pitched great for once. One moment it was tied 1-1 and when I switched back, it was 6-2. Nice.

I have 2 packs of 1988 Topps Big Series 1. I always remember these for the goofy cartoons on the back.

Pack 1:
Ron Guidry
Brook Jacoby
Lance McCullers
Ivan Calderon
Bobby Bonilla
Brian Downing
Marty Barrett

Pack 2:
Tom Herr
Larry Herndon
Wally Joyner
Keith Hernandez
Scott Fletcher
Jose Canseco
Dwight Gooden

The CotG (Card of the Game) is definitely between two stars of the 80’s Mets, Keith Hernandez and Dwight Gooden. As much as I like Hernandez, I already have one or two of his cards as the CotG already. Despite having great years with the Mets, Gooden was destined for more but some questionable decisions derailed his career. On a side note, I didn’t know that Gary Sheffield was related to Dwight Gooden. I learn something new everyday.

Topps Big_Gooden Front

Topps Big_Gooden Back

Topps Big Keith Hernandez

So weird and random.

Leave a comment

Filed under Collectibles

Leave a Reply

