CotG: Pinnacle The Naturals

Wow the Mets actually swept a series.

For the last CotG (Card of the Game) of the year, I have something special. I have this.

Pinnacle Naturals_0001

And it is serialed 10,817/100,000

Pinnacle Naturals_0002

And this is what you get

Pinnacle Naturals_0005

The first thing I notice is the packaging is like a ring box with felt on the inside protecting the cards. (I can’t find my camera right now so I might take a picture of it later.) Yet some of the cards are still damaged with slight chipping on the edge. However I bought it from the discount bin knowing the box was a little damage. This set must have been expensive back in the 1990’s and it only cost me $3.

The second thing I noticed was that the cards are ugly and I am not a big fan of the Dufex process. I don’t really know why but they just aren’t appealing.

Pinnacle Naturals_0003

The CotG is easily Mike Piazza, my favorite player.

Pinnacle Naturals_0004

All in all, it was a bad year to do something like Card of the Game posts, where I open a pack every time the Mets won. Simply this year was one of the worst in history. It’s just my luck.

Card of the Game: By the Numbers

70 Mets wins= 70 CotGs
24 cards of a player pictured as a Met (34%)
9 cards from the 80’s
6 cards from the 90’s
55 cards from the 2000’s
69 baseball cards
1 football card
I was trying to find which player was represented the most but there are too many tied with 3.

4 Comments

Filed under Collectibles

4 responses to “CotG: Pinnacle The Naturals

  1. lonestarr

    There are much better examples of Dufex.

    Are you going to do CotG during the basketball season with the Knnicks?

  2. I was thinking about it but I don’t have much faith in the Knicks doing well this year. Plus the basketball products out now aren’t really that exciting. We’ll see.

  3. And I’m willing to keep an open mind on the Dufex technology. But honestly it left a negative first impression.

Leave a Reply

