The Topps Million Card Giveaway Cards I Kept

As you may or may not know, the Topps Million Card Giveaway promotion ends in March which mean if you don’t have the cards delivered to you by then they will be donated whatever that means. So I figure I better get the cards I want now before I forgot. All in all I got about six of the twenty five or so cards I “pulled”. Generally the only cards I want are either old or are of Mets. Let’s see.

1964 Rookie Stars Reds Sammy Ellis & Mel Queen

This card instantly become the oldest card I own and it is probably the best card I pulled from TMCG. I heard about some horror stories about the condition of vintage cards and I guess I luck out. If I had to rate the card, it would be good but if it wasn’t for the gum stain you can probably argue very good condition.

1971 Dean Chance

I traded a 60’s card for this one and I absolutely have no regrets.

1974 Jack McKeon

I had this one shipped because it is a nice quirky card with the floating heads and all.

1975 Jon Matlack

As a Mets fan, this one is a no brainer.

1979 Mets Prospects Juan Berenguer, Dwight Bernard & Dan Norman

This is a more of a why not for me. None of the rookies really panned out but of three probably Juan Berenguer had the best career. Also a little fun fact Dan Norman is one of the players trade for Tom Seaver in what Mets fan called The Midnight Massacre which brings me to…

1987 Tom Seaver

I have a little Tom Seaver collection going and this is one card I don’t have.

I will continue to trade around the rest of my TMCG collection for cards I want and it looks promising. Overall I thought the TMCG was a success and I admit I have fun hunting for the codes and then trading my virtual cards. Paying for shipping and handling kind of sucks but what are you going to do, right?

2 Comments

Filed under Collectibles

2 responses to “The Topps Million Card Giveaway Cards I Kept

  1. Paying for shipping does suck, that’s why I’m so glad that I live in California – they don’t charge shipping for legal reasons!

    Whenever the deadline is for shipping cards, that’s when I’ll have the rest shipped to me. I already got 2 of mine shipped (the Jeter autograph & a 60’s Senator), so I know they don’t charge.

  2. WHAT!?!? Ah man this is like one of the few times I wished I live in Cali…

Leave a Reply

