Quick Predictions: UFC 127 Fitch vs Penn

The MMA events just keep on coming. This week we have UFC 127 and it should be a good one! The UFC is giving us five free fights, two on Facebook and three on Ion TV. More fights is always a good thing. Still I know beggars can’t be choosey but I wish Mark Hunt’s fight would air live too. Anyways…

Jon Fitch vs BJ Penn
Jon Fitch by Judges’ Decision
Despite BJ Penn just obliterating Matt Hughes in his last fight, I can still not convinced he is a top Welterweight. Sure if he beat Fitch that would be out of the question but I just don’t see doing that. Jon Fitch’s wrestling is top notch and he is easily the second best Welterweight in the world (GSP is still by far #1). If my count is right, he has an insane 13 wins in the UFC only losing to GSP. Plus if GSP does vacate the belt to face Anderson Silva, I think Fitch is a shoe in to be the champ. Sure he isn’t most most exciting fighter in the world but he is a winner. I think BJ Penn’s best shot is to finish Jon Fitch early which is easier said than done.

I am still rooting for BJ Penn though. BJ Penn’s book signing was one of the best I have been to. He was very friendly, personalize every book and took photos with every fan and this was right after he lost to Frankie Edgar.

Michael Bisping vs Jorge Rivera
Michael Bisping by Judges’ Decision
Ugh, I am not a fan of Bisping and I kind of like Jorge Rivera (although his diss videos are getting kind of lame) but the bottom line is if Rivera wins this fight would be a HUGE upset.

George Sotiropoulos vs Dennis Siver
George Sotiropoulos by Judges’ Decision
Dennis Siver is a solid kickboxer with a couple of Fight of the Nights in his resume but all that would be for naught when George Sotiropoulos takes him down. George S. has been storming up the lightweight division and I don’t see Siver putting an end to that.

Chris Lytle vs Brian Ebersole
Chris Lytle by Knockout in the Second
There is no way a UFC veteran like Chris Light Out Lytle can let a UFC newcomer fighting on short notice win. Ebersole has a ton of fights under his belt (46-14-1-1) so he is no spring chicken but so it Lytle.

Chris Camozzi vs Kyle Noke

Chris Camozzi by Judges’ Decision
Two former TUF contestants go at it in this bout and to be honest I can’t remember anything about these two. Both have two wins since the show and I am a bit more impressed when Chris Camozzi beat Dong Yi Yang, who one of Korea’s best so I give him the edge just based on that.

I got Spencer Fisher, Alexander Gustafsson, Riki Fukuda, Anthony Perosh and Zhang Tie Quan for the prelims.

Leave a comment

Filed under MMA

Leave a Reply

