Quick Predictions: UFC 128 Shogun vs Jones + Pics from the Press Conference

The UFC is back with an event this Saturday, happening right in my backyard aka New Jersey (ugh sucks that MMA is not legal in New York). But unfortunately I couldn’t get tickets so I guess I would be watching it in the comforts of my apartment (as usual). I did go the UFC 128 Press Conference though and here is a bunch of pics from the event with my picks.

Maurício Shogun Rua vs Jon Bones Jones
Jon Jones by Knockout in the Second
It is real interesting to see that Jon Bones Jones is the betting favorite and I am certainly in that camp. He has been destroying everyone the UFC has put in front of him and I guess we’ll see if he is ready for the title shot. Shogun Rua is certainly no slouch and a veteran of the sport but his injury history has been a cause of concern. Seeing how Shogun responds after being taken down, put on his back with hellbows raining down with make for some good TV I admit. The bottom line is Shogun did end the Machida era early which is no easy feat but stopping the Bones Jones hype train is a huge mountain to climb.

Urijah Faber vs Eddie Wineland
Urijah Faber by Submission in the First
Can you really go anyone but Faber here?

Jim Miller vs Kamal Shalorus
Jim Miller by Submission in the Second
Kamal Shalorus is one of the more intriguing Lightweights from the WEC. Unfortunately he gets a huge step up in Jim Miller who has only lost to Gray Maynard and Frankie Edgar. Kamal Shalorus is a top notch wrestler and grappler but the question is would he actually use it as he tends to brawl more often than not, leaving some holes in his game. Even if he does utilize his wrestling base, Miller has shown he can attack off his back, making this a tough matchup for anyone.

Dan Miller vs Nate Marquardt
Nate Marquardt by Judges’ Decision
Nate the Still Pretty Great Marquardt has been accused of choking in big fights as of late but the talent is undeniably there. I am fully expecting him to bounce back from his lost to Yushin Okami. I had Nate the Great beating Yoshihiro Akiyama and I thinks he beats Dan Miller too.

Mirko Cro Cop vs Brendan Schaub
Brendan Schaub by Knockout in the Third
Other than the Pat Barry fight (and I guess Anthony Perosh who honestly was just a last minute jobber) Cro Cop has look awful as of late. Schaub has rebounded nicely after losing to Roy Nelson in the TUF 10 with 3 straight strong wins and is poised to be a major player in the top heavy UFC Heavyweight division. I like to believe Cro Cop would be back to his old self but realistically that may never happen.

I also got Elliot “The Fire” Marshall, Anthony Njokuani, Mike Pyle and Gleison Tibau for the Spike TV and Facebook cards.

Oh I got this snazzy T-shirt from the press conference. Pretty cool if you ask me!

Front

Back

4 Comments

Filed under MMA

4 responses to “Quick Predictions: UFC 128 Shogun vs Jones + Pics from the Press Conference

  1. the sewingmachineguy

    I am thinking Rua will kick the shit out of Jones’s legs. I don’t see the newcomer beating the legend.

  2. Historically Shogun Rua has sucked coming off knee surgery like say the Forrest Griffin fight and he is coming off a knee surgery coming in this fight. He has a lot of time to recover but ring rust is a possibility so I guess we’ll see.

  3. the sewingmachineguy

    Holy Crap! I was way off base with my prediction. Rua looked fat, old, slow, and by the end, beat to shit. What a performance by Jones.
    Who’s gonna give him a fight now? Surely not Machida and his love taps. Tiny lil Rashad? Nope. This guy is going to be a real force for a while.

  4. I thought that the long layoff, the knee surgery and ring rust may have been a problem going into the fight for Shogun but I didn’t think that Bones Jones would dominate that throughly.

    Light Heavyweight division seems to be hardest division to defend your belt as of late for both the UFC and Strikeforce champions. Machida may be an interesting matchup but he may not be able to overcome the reach advantage. Evans may actually be the best bet to beat Bones but it would be interesting to see but Bones now has Greg Jackson to help with a sound gameplan. Rampage would just get taken down. So all in all I say look out for Mr. Wonderful Phil Davis. His wrestling is top notch and getting better every fight so maybe in a year or so he could be the next big thing.

Leave a Reply

