My Music Playlist: Spring 2011 Edition

I did a little summer playlist last year, highlighting a couple of songs and bands that you may or may not heard of that are in heavy rotation for me and I figure to make it a seasonal tradition (so we’ll see how long that lasts). My brother accuses me of listening to too much “downer” music so I tried to keep this playlist upbeat (emphasis on try). So for the spring of 2011 I recommend…

The Pipettes – Pull Shapes

I was really sad when the band broke and replaced with a disco-ish group. Their new album is actually not bad but their first album was one of favorites of all time. I really regret not seeing them live with the original lineup when I had the chance.

The Go! Team – Junior Kickstart

The Go! Team has really master the wall of sound technique and one of the few bands you really have to see live.

Black Kids – I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How To Dance With You

Am I the only one to confused The Black Lips, The Black Keys and The Black Kids? All awesome bands by the way. Anyways the song below, I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How To Dance With You is insanely infectious.

Empire of the Sun – Walking on a Dream

I just read that Empire of the Sun was THE highlight of the Ultra Music Festival which included DJ Tiesto, Deadmau5 and The Chemical Brothers and it really makes me want to go to one of their concerts. They are playing in Governors Ball and I am really thinking about going solely for them and maybe Girl Talk. All their songs are great but Walking on a Dream is their hit.

The Mountain Goats – Sax Rohmer #1

Changing the mood a wee bit we have the Mountains Goats. John Darnielle has be regarded by many as one of the best lyricist of our generation and the video for this song is wicked cool. But unfortunately it wouldn’t embed but you can find that here.

The Joy Formidable – Whirring

I am a huge fan of theirs since Bamboozle last year and they really deserve more recognition.

Anyways, I am always open for suggestions. You can shoot them at the comments section below or at twitter.

1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to “My Music Playlist: Spring 2011 Edition

  1. the sewingmachineguy

    Dude, I love when you post shit like this! In a good way.
    There is SO much music out there. It’s impossible to take it all in. The Pipettes tune was great. I really dig bands with female voices.
    If you can, stream y-rock on xpn someday. Give it an hour… you won’t be disappointed.
    Peace, Larry the smg

Leave a Reply

