Concert Scrapbook: May 2011 – Mott the Hoople, The Beatles & June’s Music Playlist

I am going to start a new segment on the blog and it is kind of like an online concert scrapbook. Honestly this is really for myself, as it is a little way to highlight/ remember all the concerts I been to (starting now) but it can be a cool way for you guys and gals to discover/ rediscover some awesome music! There are a bunch of free concerts in store this summer including Asobi Seksu, Metronomy, Dengue Fever, the 4 Knots Festival and Pink Martini so I’m super, super excited.

Summer is not quite here so I went to only two concerts this month.

Ian Hunter of Mott the Hoople – May 1, 2011, Hoboken Arts & Music Festival
Fav Songs: All the Young Dudes, Sweet Jane and Saturday Gigs
Mott the Hoople is a totally underrated band. They are best known for their song All the Young Dudes but they have very deep repertoire of songs under their belt.

Rain: A Tribute to the Beatles – May 24, 2011
Fav Songs: How can you picks just one Beatles song?
This is not a concert per se but it was still a great time all around and it is absolutely the closest thing can you can get to the Beatles. I had great seats too. Third row from the stage, almost dead center. Major thanks to my good friend, Wayne. I didn’t really take any pictures because I wasn’t sure if it was allowed or not and I didn’t really want to risk being kicked out. But the funny thing was the oldest grandma in the row in front me was trying to covertly record parts of the show…

Also I was going to make a music playlist for each season but since I am going to have a Concert Scrapbook post each month I might as well make a music playlist for each month too. Youtube sucks now so I’m going to try Grooveshark.

All The Young Dudes – Mott the Hoople
Sweet Jane – Mott the Hoople
Strawberry Fields Forever – Across the Universe
Dog Days Are Over – Florence and the Machine
Sleeping In – The Postal Service
Roman Holiday – Camera Obscura
Satellite – Lelia Broussard
For The Price of a Cup of Tea – Belle and Sebastian
Shattered – OAR
Touch of Grey – Grateful Dead
(Hard link to my playlist)

So let’s see. I had to start off with a little Mott the Hoople and it seems that all the Beatles songs are taken off Grooveshark so I went with an Across the Universe cover (great movie by the way). Then I loosely (and I mean loosely) went with as spring turns to summer theme. Lelia Broussard is in the finals of The Rolling Stones’ Do You Want to Be a Rock Star contest so if you love her song Satellite as much as I do, vote for her here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

