Concert Scrapbook: June 2011 – Guitar Shortly, Bang A Can Marathon & The Ghost of Saber Tooth Tiger + July’s Music Playlist

I am a wee bit early but I am continuing my little online concert scrapbook as a little way to highlight/ remember all the concerts I been to. It can be a cool way for you to discover/ rediscover some awesome music along with my monthly playlists! So lets’ see for this month…

Guitar Shorty – June 11, 2011, Big Apple BBQ Block Party
Fav Songs: –
There is nothing better than starting the summer with a little BBQ and live music. Guitar Shorty was the perfect addition for the block party IMO. My pic of Guitar Shorty was super blurry (it hard to steady the camera and hold your umbrella when it is pouring) but here is a pic from the BBQ. Man I can go for some ribs right about now.

Various Artists – June 19, 2011, Bang A Can Marathon
Fav Songs: –
I finally, finally caught the critically acclaimed Bang A Can Marathon this year. It packed the Winter Garden and unfortunately I couldn’t stay for too long. The diversity of music available to New Yorkers (if they look) always amazes me.



The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger & Blood Orange
– June, 24 2011, River to River Festival
Fav Songs: Rainbows In Gasoline, Candy Necklace and the last song before the encore
Both of John Lennon’s sons Sean Lennon and Julian Lennon are incredibly talented and The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger is Sean Lennon’s band. They had a great set in South Street Seaport and their new song, the song just before the encore was epic.

My July Music Playlist:

I’m Gonna Leave You – Guitar Shorty
I Don’t Want to Know – Julian Lennon
Needles and Pins – Ramones
Is She Really Going Out With Him – Joe Jackson
Dead – Pixies
White Night – The Postelles
Under Cover of Darkness – The Strokes
Skeleton – Bloc Party
The Greatest Light is the Greatest – The Joy Formidable
Damn Things Over – Empires

(Hard link to my playlist)

I went a little more rock this month but there are a few indie gems sprinkled in.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

