Random Box Break: World’s Greatest Card Chase Baseball

I busted this box in Dallas BBQs with my brother (just before any ribs and chicken was brought out if you had to know).

These World’s Greatest Card Chase products really have brilliant marketing behind them. Making it a chase with cards like the first known baseball card 1869 Red Stockings (this year’s chase) or a Babe Ruth autograph ball, you have collectors wondering what if (maybe it is just me). I totally understand that 99.999% of the time you get junk but it is not like anything else peaked my interest in the card aisle. I find most of the last year’s or so offerings boring but that is another story. Why not try something potentially quirky once or twice? At worst I pull a couple of interesting cards and give away the rest. Oh if you are wondering to pull the 1869 Red Stockings card you need to first pull a “Red Diamond Pack” and those run at 1:3000. I am not quite sure how many Red Diamond Packs are out there but you probably have better luck winning the lottery.

This one is the pack edition with 16 pack and here are the ones in this box:
1988 Donruss x2
1989 Donruss x3
1900 Donruss x2
1991 Donruss
1989 Topps x2
1990 Score
1991 Fleer Ultra

and the packs I actually care about
Cardsone Ultimate Super Jumbo Pack
1989 Topps Yearbook Stickers
1991 O Pee Chee
1993 O Pee Chee
2007 Topps Updates & Highlights

As expected I got mostly 80’s and 90’s junk packs. The only good thing about getting a ton of Donruss packs is my brother collect the Donruss Kings Inserts and we pulled a couple of them he needed.

Ok I lied he only needed one of them.

The Cardsone Ultimate Super Jumbo Pack (that is a lot of adjectives) is the most interesting of all the packs but it really is a repack in repack. But if I manage to get three more packs for a total of four and I can send in the wrappers for a bonus autograph card. Again interesting gimmick.

Here are a couple of other “highlights” from my break.

and hey I formed Stan Musial’s head!

I wonder if the World’s Greatest Card Chase repacks sell better than there competitors. Buying a tons of crappy cards and packs for pennies and toss it one or two super, super rare cards for a chase sounds like a great business plan.

1 Comment

Filed under Collectibles

One response to “Random Box Break: World’s Greatest Card Chase Baseball

  1. Scott

    Thanks for the break, I’ve looked at these a couple of times, but never pulled the trigger.

Leave a Reply

