MTG Brewer: My Legacy Burn Deck With A Little Spice

Did you see the preview of Grafdigger’s Cage? Man does that hose a lot of my decks across all formats. Dredge (Legacy & Standard versions), Melira Pod, Oath of Druids, Natural Order etc etc all nerfed. I guess I got to go back to the basics for now. A burn deck has always been in my arsenal and recently one just won a Starcity Legacy tournament. Not too shabby for a strategy viable since Alpha.

Do you notice anything rather weird in my Legacy burn deck that I will probably run?

Creatures: 10
4 Mogg Fanatic Goblin Guide
2 Grim Lavamancer
2 Keldon Marauders
2 Figure of Destiny

Spells: 30
4 Lightning Bolts
4 Lave Spike
4 Gitaxian Probe
4 Flame Rift
4 Fireblast
4 Chain Lightning
3 Price of Progress
3 Browbeat

Lands: 20
16 Mountains
4 Mishra’s Factory

Sideboard:
2 Tormod’s Crypt
2 Relic of Progenitus (may change this to 4 Faerie Macabre or Grafdigger’s Cage of my own)
2 Red Elemental Blast
2 Pyroblast
2 Magus of the Moon
2 Blood Moon
2 Smash to Smithereens
1 Cave- in

Sure I don’t have Goblin Guides in the deck (yet) but Gitaxian Probe might be a rather odd inclusion to some. I was actually playtesting that slot with 3 different cards, Magma Jet (which most play), the new Dark Ascension card Faithless Looting and much later Gitaxian Probe.

Basically I wanted this slot to make the deck even more consist and to draw higher quality of spells while still dishing out a lot of pain each turn. I am not a fan of Magma Jet since in the second turn I much rather play a Flame Rift, Keldon Marauder or 2 one mana burn spells. Faithless Looting is going to have a huge impact across several format but this isn’t great in this deck. The net loss of one card (Faithless Looting itself and the two cards you discard) hurts in deck which burns his or her hand very quickly. So I did a little brainstorming I settle with Gitaxian Probe. It helps with quality since it practically narrows your deck down to 56 cards. It is basically free (your life doesn’t matter when playing a burn deck) so it doesn’t slow the deck down at all. Plus a look at a players hand is very useful even for a burn deck since there are so many decks an opponent can play in Legacy and it will help you sideboard for games 2 and 3.

Burn decks are as straight forward as they come but there is always room for a little tweak or two.

Leave a comment

Filed under Magic The Gathering

Leave a Reply

