MTG Brewer: Next Level Reanimator aka Séance Combo

Seance is easily my favorite card from the latest Magic set Dark Ascension. My previous build with it was fun but not quite tournament playable so I went back to the drawing board and came up with this.

Next Level Reanimator:
4 Blade Splicer
2 Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite
2 Armored Scaab
1 Mirror Mad Phantasm
1 Laboratory Manic
1 Rune Scarred Demon

4 Seance
2 Unburial Rites

4 Mana Leak
2 Oblivion Ring
2 Day of Judgment

4 Faithless Looting
3 Desperate Ravings
3 Forbidden Alchemy
1 Increasing Ambition

3 Glacial Fortress
3 Dragonskull Summit
3 Clifftop Retreat
2 Shimmering Grotto
2 Evolving Wilds
5 Islands
4 Plains
1 Mountain
1 Swamp

Sideboard:
2 Oblivion Ring
3 Celestial Purge
1 Unburial Rites
1 Day of Judgment
2 Timely Reinforcements
3 Dismember
3 Lingering Souls or maybe Whipflare

This deck is a whole new beast and honestly one that is a bit tricky to play. The beauty of this deck compared to my previous Séance build is that the combo doesn’t take up a lot of deck space to work. With all the extra slots I can play a bunch card drawing engines (all with flashback) and control cards like Mana Leak, O rings and DoJs. One problem though is that the mana base is a little shaky and I have been tweaking it here and there. Basically you need red mana early, blue mana turns 2 or 3 and double white mid- game.

Anyways the combo is Faithless Looting, discarding a Mirror Mad Phantasm, Séance bringing back a Mirror Mad Phantasm token, using the Mirror Mad Phantasm ability to mill your whole deck (since it is a token it doesn’t shuffle back to the library) and then seancing a Laboratory Maniac, and finally flashing back a Desperate Raving if your opponent has any response. You’ll be surprised how everything falls in line. Other plays to consider are flashing back a Elesh Norn with Unburial Rites, which is the silver bullet for many aggro decks or playing a Blade Splicer or two to put on some pressure. Against control decks, it is all about sneakily getting card advantage, knowing when to be aggressive, when to be patient and resolving a Séance.

This deck is wickedly fun to play. There are also a lot of little tricks that you pick up when you play with this deck a lot. Most of all, the stunned look of your opponents face when you get the combo to go off is priceless!

5 Comments

Filed under Magic The Gathering

5 responses to “MTG Brewer: Next Level Reanimator aka Séance Combo

  1. Can I just say that this deck made me go “Okay… this is awesome!” Although I still don’t know why you have to keep your mana base so thin. Feels like you have too many colors. I am always a fan of the tutors in black… just wondering if the mana base can be fixed but losing a color and go from there…

    • Black is not a problem. It is a splash just for Unburial Rites, Forbidden Alchemy and Increasing Ambition. The Rites and Alchemy can work without black and I often discard the Increasing Ambition anyways to Faithless Looting or whatnot.

      You can probably cut Red and just go with more discard outlets in blue like Merfolk Looter etc but Faithless Looting is just so good.

      I also play around with green for acceleration like the Frites deck to get the combo as quick as possible but I find the 4 color control shell is a lot stronger and less all in.

      Also if you have Red early Faithless Looting, Desperate Ravings along with Forbidden Alchemy, it irons out the mana base a lot. I don’t get mana screw that often but when I do it is usually because I couldn’t get red out early enough and sometimes I don’t have enough blue to chain two or more Desperate Ravings with Laboratory Manic.

      I have had success with this deck. I have gone X-1 every time in my Friday Magic Nights which is fairly competitive in my local hobby store. Since the combo doesn’t take up too much space a lot of the cards in the deck are flexible so you can meta if you plan ahead and should do OK. Again it is really a mash between say Gerry Thompson’s 4/5 Color control and the Frites deck and I can switch between the two after sideboard.

      BTW I face a full on Frites deck two weeks ago it was probably one of the most fun games I ever played. Elesh Norn must have came in play like 10-12 times throughout the game. (Oh if you are wondering I won that game!)

      • I just really like the deck. I was working on a G/R Land Destruction deck with your other build but you have it as mono-green and I like Red/Green much better.. funny that there is not one true ‘destroy land’ card in that deck.

        I am actually going to take this tomorrow to my first FNM in several years (just got back into Magic a few months ago when Innistrad came out) and I was looking for something different and fun and this screams fun to me. I also really and truly enjoy it when people sit down and as you play a game, they just go “WTF are you doing?” and have a blast while playing it.

  2. Yea any land destruction build is tough in the current standard format. Red has like what zero 3 mana land destruction spells and one 4 mana. Green has more utility but they are a little pricey. The best land destruction deck is probably a control-ish Birthing Pod deck with Acidic Slime and Venser with the Stonehoard Dignity soft deck. With all the flicker effects in the Avacyn restored that deck might get even better.

    Anyways best of luck in FNM. Let me know how you do!

  3. Pingback: MTG Brewer: Séance + Splicers Deck | Shot Not Taken

Leave a Reply

