Black/ White Tokens – The Best Deck I Ever Drafted

I don’t draft too often but last night I had probably one the best deck I ever drafted. OK if it was not the best, it was at least the most fun to play. I pretty much had everything I wanted. My first pick overall was Lingering Souls so I was thinking a white/ black tokens type of deck from the get- go and I kept getting quality white and black spells throughout. I knew I was in the clear when I got a Vault of the Archangels as my tenth pick (My pod was 10 players so everyone passed it). Here is the kicker, in my third pack, I pulled a foiled Sorin, Lord of Innistrad!!! That is a $60 card. CrAzY. Plus not only was Sorin arguably one of the best cards in Dark Ascension, it was a bomb in my color. What are the odds?

The Deck:
1 Typhoid Rats
2 Skirsdag Flayer
1 Highborn Ghoul
1 Vampire Interloper
1 Voiceless Spirit
1 Niblis of the Mist
1 Elgaud Inquistor
1 Abbey Griffin
1 Silverclaw Griffin
1 Farbog Boneflinger

2 Burden of Guilt
1 Faith’s Shield
1 Dead Weight
1 Silver- Inlaid Dagger
1 Skillful Lunge
1 Sharpened Pitchfork
1 Gather the Townsfolk
1 Altar’s Reap
1 Tribute to Hunger
1 Lingering Souls
1 Sorin, Lord of Innistrad

8 Swamps
7 Plains
1 Vault of the Archangel
1 Haunted Fengraf

My MVPs

My Sideboard:
1 Deadly Allure
1 Skillful Lunge
1 Black Cat
1 Chosen of Markov
2 Smite the Monstrous
1 Unburial Rites
1 Farbog Boneflinger
1 Curse of Thirst
1 Curse of Misfortunes

Other Cards:
1 Drogskol Captain
1 Mayor of Avabruck
1 Heavy Mattock
1 Infernal Plunge
1 Griptide
1 Nephalia Seakite
1 Chant of the Skifsang

I was so happy I hate drafted the Drogskol Captain and the Mayor of Avabruck. At least three people were drafting werewolves and green in general was heavily drafted. I ended up in second place, losing to just a blue/ white flyers deck. It was a super close match but he had a bunch of combat tricks and I kind of got unlucky. He went on to a perfect record. No one was really drafted blue and white was kind of underdrafted too so if I didn’t get the Drogskol Captain it would probably go to blue/ white flyers. It would have made his deck from a tough matchup to a “I need a miracle to win” matchup.

I had a lot of fun. Maybe I should draft more often.

Update: I mine as well post my Standard Black/ White Tokens deck too.

3 Champion of the Parish
3 Doomed Travelers
4 Gather the Townsfolk
4 Midnight Haunting
4 Lingering Souls
4 Mirran Crusader

2 Sorin, Lord of Innistrad

4 Honor the Pure
4 Intangible Virtue
2 Oblivion Ring
2 Dismember

12 Plains
4 Swamps
4 Evolving Wilds/ Should be Isolated Chapel but my brother uses them for his Solar Flare deck
2 Vault of the Archangel
2 Ghost Quarter

Basically it is Craig Wescoe’s build from a couple weeks back but instead I have Dismember instead of Go for the Throats and Mirran Crusader instead of Hero of Bladehold both metagame choices. I also shaved off a Champion and a Doomed Traveler for two Sorins which works out better with the Evolving Wilds and the addition of Ghost Quarter anyways.

4 Comments

Filed under Magic The Gathering

4 responses to “Black/ White Tokens – The Best Deck I Ever Drafted

  1. Nice pull on the foiled Sorin… 😛

  2. Why not use Spectral Procession instead of Midnight Haunting? The mana cost is 3 white instead of 2 white +1 colorless, but you get an extra token. Midnight Haunting is an instant and Spectral Procession a sorcery, is that why?

Leave a Reply

