MTG Brewer: Scrambled Eggs in Standard

Scrambled Eggs is widely considered the hardest deck to pilot correctly. There are a lot of small interactions going on at the same time and a lot of math of involved. With all that being said, it is the kind of deck I love to play. One of the more interesting cards in Magic 2013 is Faith’s Reward which is kind of like a one sided Second Sunrise, the main card of the Scrambled Eggs deck. I figured I can build a Scrambled Eggs in Standard.

There are a lot of obstacles. First off there are no good cantrip artifacts that net you mana or at the very least don’t cost a mana to cycle. There is also no replacement for Lotus Bloom so you need to look elsewhere to net mana after each Faith’s Reward. Fortunately you can still do the Ghost Quarter trick, where you Ghost Quarter you own land so you can get both back later. Abundant Growth works well with this trick while fixing the very fragile mana base.

Someone is going to try the Scrambled Eggs deck in Standard with artifacts but again there aren’t many ways to net mana and draw cards to keep chaining Faith’s Rewards. After scouring Gatherer I think found a replacement for all the cantrip artifacts. Heartless Summoning with cheap cantrips creatures. It makes the small cantrips creatures all cost one mana and it kills them at the same time. Elvish Visionary and Oculus are perfect and Priest of Urabrask is my Lotus Bloom. I would love to squeeze in Viridian Emissary to speed up the combo and thin out the deck but slots are at a premium. I have to play around with the deck to see if that is the right choice. Ponder and Faithless Looting is the cheapest ways to cycle through the deck the first couple of turns to get all the pieces together. I may eventually cut Faithless Looting for something else if the mana base is too shakey.

As for the win condition, Laboratory Manic is the easiest way to go and one many Scrambled Eggs players opt for in the Modern version. But after running scenarios in my head, it is way too risky without Conjurer’s Bauble. I played around with a bunch of options and I found Blood Artist the best way and the quickest to boot. Without further ado, here is a rough decklist.

Heartless Reward:

4 Ponder
4 Faithless Looting
4 Abundant Growth
4 Faith’s Reward
4 Noxious Revival
4 Heartless Summoning

4 Priest of Urabrask
4 Elvish Visionary
4 Oculus
3 Blood Artist

4 Ghost Quarter
4 Evolving Wilds
7 Forest
2 Mountains
1 Islands
2 Plain
1 Swamp

Sideboard:
4 Autumn’s Veil
4 Mental Misstep
4 Feeling of Dread or Wall of Tanglecord
2 Smelt
1 Laboratory Manic

Sideboarding is tough for this deck since basically you need every card for it to chain consistently. But you can side out one to three Blood Artists perhaps for a Laboratory Maniac (you need a win condition), cut a Oculus and cut a Forest. That give you four slots to play around with. Autumn’s Veil is a must against anything deck with counters. Most of the hate against the deck cost one mana like Surgical Extraction so Mental Misstep is an option. Feeling of Dread or Wall of Tanglecord can buy you time against aggro decks. Finally, Smelt deals with problematic artifacts like Torpor Orb, Grafdigger’s Cage and Nihil Spellbomb.

This is a deck that would probably take months to fine tune but unfortunately I got only three months to play with it unless Wizards prints another creature like Priest of Urabrask and maybe another cantrip creature or two. So I guess I am going to throw this deck head first in my FNMs. I am going to lose a ton but hopefully I can figure a right mix to go off consistently turns 4 or 5 in the coming weeks. At the very least, it is going to be a lot of fun to play and it is definitely a deck that makes your opponent go WTF.

I am open to any suggestions and next time for MTG Brewer I got an insane Battle of Wits deck.

7 Comments

Filed under Magic The Gathering

7 responses to “MTG Brewer: Scrambled Eggs in Standard

  1. Jason Drummond

    What about the Scars dual lands? Also how well has this deck worked out so far?

    • I unfortunately I have only a set of the Green/White fastlands and it is in my other deck (I hate moving cards around). But if I where to play this deck in the tourney I definitely would add some duals.

      The deck is very inconsistent and Wizards hasn’t really given us any good search cards or cheap blue cantrips to dig which the deck really really needs. Also the lack of redundancy which the modern version has a lot of hurts.

      I seen another version of this deck that uses Glided Lotus and the Wellsprings and cards to sacrifice artifacts. It certainly simplifies the deck but you still end up needed almost as many cards to go off and the deck is soooo slow. Glided lotus is still 5 mana.

      • Jason Drummond

        Why Not remove Blue altogether? this frees up 8 slots for the spells and 1 land slot.

        So What to add in?

        Mentor of the Meek and Viridian emissary of Course!

        I found when comboing off, I had always a huge excess of red mana. I also found it fizzled alot. being ale to use that red mana to turn each and every creature that gets Faith’s rewarded into play into a draw spell would be great! Sure I know they die again. but the card draw seems stronger.

  2. I am really thinking about cutting blue. The reason I haven’t yet is there isn’t a better spell to sculpt you hand or search for cards early than Ponder. It would take way too long to accumulate the important pieces without it I feel. I also wish there was a good mana filter in Standard.

    I had Mentor the Meek and Viridian Emissary in various versions of the deck. Of the two I find Mentor the Meek better. Emissary is nice to have but there aren’t many slots in the deck and it doesn’t really make the combo more consistent. I might throw Mentor the Meek and cut two Occulus and see if it plays any better.

  3. So I was play testing and Mentor of the Meek of this definitely the right call. I don’t know why I cut it in the first place. With it, the deck fizzles a lot less and drawing a ton of cards when it goes off. I have replaced 4 Occulus for 2 Mentor of the Meek and 2 Index and may replace one Blood Artist in the main deck for Laboratory Maniac.

    I know Index is horrible but you really need to sculpt your hand for the first few turns and there aren’t a lot of options. I bunch of cantrips and shuffle effects makes it bearable. You can dig 5 deep and get the card you want and just shuffle away the rest of the cards.

  4. matt

    i know it has been a long time since you’ve worked on this but can i see a list of what it eventually became?

    • I broke up the deck awhile ago but let’s see what I can do.

      Here are the cards you can’t change.

      Heartless Reward:
      4 Abundant Growth
      4 Faith’s Reward
      4 Noxious Revival
      4 Heartless Summoning
      4 Priest of Urabrask
      4 Elvish Visionary
      4 Ghost Quarter

      and about 16- 18 more lands so that leaves about 14-16 more slots.

      4 Oculus
      2 Mentor the Meek
      3 Blood Artist
      4 Faithless Looting

      4 Evolving Wilds
      A bunch of basics

      Which leaves 2 slots for something to smooth out the combo and make it more consistent. Ponder is the best card at the time but there is no way this deck can reliably make a blue mana early on. I am drawing a blank so maybe Gitaxin Probe.

      So maybe

      Heartless Reward:
      4 Abundant Growth
      4 Faith’s Reward
      4 Noxious Revival
      4 Heartless Summoning

      4 Faithless Looting
      2 Gitaxin Probe

      4 Priest of Urabrask
      4 Elvish Visionary
      4 Oculus
      2 Mentor the Meek
      3 Blood Artist

      4 Evolving Wilds
      4 Ghost Quarter
      A bunch of basics

      Basically cut 4 Ponders for 2 Mentor the Meek and another cheap cantrip.

Leave a Reply

