Brewing with Magic 2014 Slivers

Magic 2014 prerelease is less than a week away and I can tell you right now that I am definitely going to be forcing Slivers. I have had a lot of fun with Slivers decks in the past and I can’t wait to play with the new Slivers. I also hoping the Magic 2014 Slivers are going to be Standard playable and I am trying to build a Sliver deck for the first FNM they are legal in.

Some thoughts. They are three ways to go with Slivers in my opinion. You can try to make the deck as fast as possible, so something like a Naya blitz deck with a focus on Predatory Sliver. Unfortunately there aren’t enough cheap Slivers to make this deck possible. I can’t imagine you winning in races and I can’t imagine you closing out against Control or Midrange decks. The second way to go is aggro deck that is resilient and eventually you hope to have enough Slivers to have favorable board states. So the deck will have cards like Boros Charm and Rootborn Defenses. The problem I foresee is that the Slivers are probably still going to be outclass even with a bunch of them out. There are a lot of scary creatures out there like Loxodon Smiter, Thundermaw Hellkite, Hellrider, etc etc and there are only a few Slivers that really matter. Basically I think the power level is not there.

That leaves option C, a ramp deck. The two scariest Slivers are Bonescythe Sliver and Megantic Sliver. There are quite slow though but fortunately there is Manaweft Sliver. But it as a huge target on its head so I have Farseek for more ramp and maybe the deck even needs 4 Avacyn’s Pilgrims.

Most will probably be trying Naya Slivers and maybe even five color Slivers but looking at those Slivers and they really aren’t work splashing. Naya Slivers greatest appeal is Boros Charm and the mana should work but it is probably not that much better than G/W Slivers. G/W Slivers has that slight edge in consistency so you can play 4 Mutavaults and 2 Gavony Townships. This is probably what I would run if the FNM is tomorrow.

4 Predatory Sliver
4 Manaweft Sliver
4 Sentinel Sliver
4 Hive Stirrings
4 Bonescythe Sliver
4 Megantic Sliver

4 Farseek
3 Rootborn Defenses
1 Immortal Servitude
4 Oblivion Ring

4 Temple Gardens
4 Sunpetal Grove
4 Cavern of Souls
4 Forest
2 Plains
4 Mutavault
2 Gavony Township

Magic 2014 Slivers

I threw in Immortal Servitude for the surprise factor but it might not be right with only 12 two drop Slivers. This is rough draft so let me know what you think.

2 Comments

Filed under Magic The Gathering

2 responses to “Brewing with Magic 2014 Slivers

  1. MakeMyDay

    Hi, I am not an expert on Slivers .. but this deck looks like i can inflict some damage. I would make some minor changes maybe dropping one Rootborn Defenses for one Feeling of Dread. You could also flashback it with your mana sliver. I also dont know if you really need 4 copys of oblivion ring. Maybe some Ajani, Caller of the Pride ?
    I would also keep Immortal Servitude, when dropping Rootborn Defense. It looks really great against Supreme Verdict whicht is almost a silver bullet for your deck. For your Sideboard I would choose up to 3 Druid’s Deliverance so agrro decks dont run you donwn when you build up your army. And what do you think about one copy of Unflinching Courage in the Sideboard?
    I hope that was helpful 😀

    • After playtesting a bunch of different variations of Sliver builds the strongest IMO is actually a Mono- Green Sliver Build. So 4 Predator Silver, 4 Manaweft Sliver, 2 Megantic Sliver & 2 Mutavaults. It is similar to the Mono green elves deck that is getting more popular just replace elves with Slivers. Off the top of my head it has Rancors, Revenge of the Hunted, Predator Oozes and the new Garruk.

Leave a Reply

