My Box Break of 2013 Topps Allen & Ginter

Year after year Allen & Ginter is my favorite release by far. As most of you already know, it is not just another baseball card set. It is so much more. You never know who you can pull and the inserts are often random and yet educational in a way. It is like Reddit in a collectible form. It is a sure bet that I will pick up at least a box of Allen & Ginter every year. Unfortunately I haven’t really pulled anything good in years past but I hope that changes this year. Either way I know it is going to be a fun box break.

2013 Allen & Ginter

First off my box topper

2013 Allen & Ginter Box Topper

You are going to see a ton of A&G cards all over the blogosphere so I decided to just highlight some of the quirky base cards:

2013 Allen & Ginter Base

Some inserts and minis:

2013 Allen & Ginter Inserts

2013 Allen & Ginter minis

There are almost too many cool cards to scan. Artie Lange? That guy from Man vs Food? Freddie Roach? I love it.

Allen & Ginter has three hits this year and they are:

2013 Allen & Ginter Rip Card and Game Used

OMG! OMG! OMG! I finally pulled a rip card!!!! I am not sure what to do with it but I am probably going to rip it. I just want to think this through because knowing my luck I probably will never pull another one. Expect another blog post in the very near future to find out what’s inside. The Trevor Bauer rip card BTW is 7/50 and the other hits are a game used jersey of John Axford and of Elvis Andrus.

I also wanted to add, I know some people are upset about the hidden 1/1’s in the Allen and Ginter boxes but love it. Sure some probably would have missed out but I guarantee you from now on the hunt of Allen & Ginter will transcend the cards themselves (and it kind of does already with the A&G code etc in previous years). Collectors would scour all over the box and who knows what else in the future to see what mysteries it may or may not hold. A&G is all about the hunt and Topps have done a good job of keeping the hunt fresh.

Update: Check out what I pulled from my rip card here.

7 Comments

Filed under Collectibles

7 responses to “My Box Break of 2013 Topps Allen & Ginter

  1. Dan

    Unripped cards /50 for less popular players seem to be selling in the 50-70 range. If you like minis more, rip it…the commons of those EXT minis usually sell for 30 or so, and the ripped card is also a collectible. I would rip it because I don’t care about Bauer.

    • Thanks for the info! I feel the same way. The fact the rip card is a Trevor Bauer card rather than say a David Wright rip card makes the decision a bit easier.

  2. I like that you put Arod and Braun next to each other. Gee, guess what they’re talking about.

  3. Very nice pull on the rip card! I’ve always thought that if I pulled on I’d go ahead and rip it. The design of the rip cards are nice so I’d keep it anyway, but I love minis so the suspense would kill me. I think they used to sometimes put the original 1890’s minis in those rip cards occasionally. Keep us updated.

  4. Congrats on the rip card, please let us know what you find inside!

  5. Pingback: Couldn’t Resist… Ripping My 2013 Allen & Ginter Trevor Bauer Rip Card | Shot Not Taken

Leave a Reply

