Awesomely Awesome Comics: The Sandman Overture #1

In case you missed the big news. There is a new Sandman comic out! It is the first Sandman comic in I believe 10 years and it has been 25 years since the first Sandman comic was released. Best of all it is written by Neil Gaiman so it is not like the new series of Watchman comics which had no input from Alan Moore.

The Sandman Overture 1

I don’t want to spoil anything but it is epic and worthy to be part of the legendary Sandman collection. The art is stunning and it is great to see the whole gang back again (for a short limited series).

Going on a huge tangent who would have thought this comic is worth a pretty penny.

Saga #1 Signed

It is a first printing of Saga #1 signed by Brian K Vaughan. I had some idea Saga was big because I saw a bunch of stands at New York Comic Con selling the first issues and they were asking for a quite a lot for a modern comic. I decided to dig up my copy from my closet. It is really tough really pinpoint a value on comic books anymore but I suspect it can go for more than $50 maybe more than $100 on a good day. If you want my two cents on the comic, I only read one issue and it really isn’t my cup of tea but I can understand why this comic quite beloved.

2 Comments

Filed under Collectibles

2 responses to “Awesomely Awesome Comics: The Sandman Overture #1

  1. I have just started getting into comics. What is Sandman? I have heard of him but, I have no idea what the character is about.

    • The Sandman is a much beloved comic series written by Neil Gaiman. It follows the story of Dream aka Morpheus. There is a lot backstory behind the comic so if you are curious and not worried about spoilers you can check out the wiki page. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sandman_%28Vertigo%29

      If you are just getting into comics, The Sandman is a darker more philosophical story than most associate with comic books. But Neil Gaiman paints a world of magic and wonder and it is hard not to fall in love with the characters.

      Finally since almost everyone makes this mistake at first there are actually two Sandman characters in the DC universe. You got Neil Gaiman’s Sandman and the Golden Age Sandman (the guy with the gas mask). Their storylines are loosely tied together later on.

Leave a Reply

