MTG Brewer: Little Tribal Zoo in Modern

For the record, I am a fan of the latest bannings and unbannings by Wizards for the Modern format. It should make way for new decks to emerge as top tier. Maybe something like…

Little Tribal Zoo:
4 Wild Nacatl
4 Kird Ape
4 Goblin Guide
4 Steppe Lynx
2 Grim Lavamancer
4 Burning-Tree Emissary
4 Ghor-Clan Rampager
4 Path to Exile
4 Lightning Bolt
4 Tribal Flames
3 Lightning Helix

4 Verdant Catacombs
4 Marsh Flats
2 Arid Mesa
2 Stomping Ground
2 Sacred Foundry
2 Temple Gardens
1 Watery Grave
1 Forest
1 Mountain

Tribal Zoo

I was anticipating Wild Nacatl to be unbanned so I was actually brewing a list and gathering the cards I needed. The one card I don’t own is Tarmogoyf so I went with a little zoo deck focused on one drops to negate its absence. This deck is pretty simple. Swarm the board with one drops and finish off the game with burn. The mana base of this deck costs an arm and a leg and there really isn’t a substitute. But if you have the fetches and shocks already this pretty much a budget deck. Only non land rare is Grim Lavamancer.

I honestly don’t play Modern much so I don’t really know how to build the sideboard. I think Pod, Splintertwin and graveyard base decks are some of the harder matchups so I think I will start with something like this.

3x Skullcrack
3x Combust
3x Pillar of Flame
3x Qasali Pridemage
2x Rest in Peace
1x Illness in the Ranks

Combust is for Splintertwin and Pillars are for Pod. Qasali Pridemage should be good against Affinity and Pod and I will probably sub in them in for BTE’s for any Pyroclasm based deck. Scavenging Ooze is probably the popular choice for graveyard hate but it does die to removal and it is a little mana intensive. Instead, Rest in Peace should a nice surprise factor. Skullcrack is probably the weakest sideboard card but I see it going in against Soul Sisters and Tron just for Wurmcoil Engine. Finally Illness in the Ranks is a cute one of that I want to test against Lingering Souls and the Bitterblossom.

The deck may be a little rough around the edges but I am going to give it a test run at a GPT this weekend. That is if there isn’t a yet another ridiculous blizzard on its way…

Update: Played the Zoo deck at the GPT and I would probably make these changes -4 Steppe Lynx for +4 Experiment One and maybe -1 Temple Garden for +1 Stomping Grounds. This deck doesn’t really need the variance of Steppe Lynx. When it is good it is insane and when it is bad it is really bad. It also leaves you open to cards like Electrolyze and Pyroclasm. I want to try Experiment One in its place to make the mana a bit better and make crazy Burning Tree Emissary chains more insane.

Leave a comment

Filed under Magic The Gathering

Leave a Reply

