Prepping for Legacy with Belcher

Standard has been boring for me lately so I have been focusing my efforts on the Legacy format. Plus, the format for Grand Prix: New Jersey in November is Legacy so I made it a goal to prep for that as the finishing line. I was planning to go the Starcity Open in Somerset this weekend but it was canceled due to snow which for as far as I can recalled is unprecedented. It really has been a crazy winter…

Anyways, so the question is what to play. I have Burn, Pox, High Tide, Maverick, Belcher and MUD. My brother wants to play MUD so that was out the window. High Tide is probably the best Legacy deck I own even without the Candelabra of Tawnos but I can’t see myself playing such a tricky deck for a long tournament. Burn is super consistent but it feels like it auto loses to way too many decks. Maverick feels underpowered to me especially without Karakas to keep Reanimator and Show and Tell decks honest. Pox seems to be a very good choice in a True Name Nemesis filled meta but after playtesting let’s just say reactive, grindy decks aren’t my strength. That leaves Belcher.

Belcher was my first Legacy deck so I think I can pilot it fairly well. I did dismantle it when the Oops All Spells deck came around. The problem with that deck is it loses to itself SOOO many times. For example you just lose if you draw too many Narcomoebas. It was advertised as a more consistent turn 1 kill but after playtesting a bit I realize that Belcher is in fact the more consistent turn 1 kill and it is not as easily disrupted. Here is my decklist.

Free Mana:
4x Elvish Spirit Guide
4x Simian Spirit Guide
4x Chrome Mox
4x Lotus Petal
1x Lion’s Eye Diamond
4x Land Grant
1x Taiga

Rituals:
4x Tinder Wall
4x Rite of Flame
4x Desperate Ritual
1x Pyretic Ritual
4x Seething Song

Free Cantrips:
4x Manamorphose
4x Gitaxian Probe
4x Street Wraith

The Win Cons:
4x Empty the Warrens
4x Goblin Charbelcher
1x Spoils of the Vault

Belcher Deck

Sideboard:
3x Xantid Swarm
2x Guttural Response
1x Pyroblast
1x Carpet of Flowers
2x Blood Moon
1x Oxidize
1x Deconstruct
1x Simplify
1x Emerald Charm
2x Gut Shot

It is a pretty typical Belcher list other than the lack of Burning Wishes. I feel they slow down the deck and they are only good if you are playing a full set of Lion’s Eye Diamond (which I don’t own at the moment). My sideboard is a little rough but I am in the camp of siding in as little as possible. The most important cards are 3 Xantid Swarms, 2 Guttural Response, 1 Pyroblast and 1 Carpet of Flowers against Force of Will decks. Blood Moon can come in as another win con. I lost once siding in Nature’s Claim because it bought my opponent an extra turn so I am trying a mixture of Simplify, Emerald Charm, Oxidize and Deconstruct. Deconstruct is especially cute because it can destroy a Chalice of the Void on 1. Gut Shot in theory kills Thalia, Guardian of Thraben and the like but again I don’t foresee me siding in the creature, artifact or enchantment hate much.

Leave a comment

Filed under Magic The Gathering

Leave a Reply

