Random Pack Break: 2013-14 Panini Prizm Basketball Retail

Panini products have really been hit or miss with me (and honestly there have been a bit more misses) so I haven’t been buying as much basketball packs as I have in the past. But I am taking the plunge yet again and I have a couple of packs of 2013-14 Panini Prizm Basketball retail.

The Base Cards, Inserts and Parallels

2013-14 Panini Prizm Basketball Base

2013-14 Panini Prizm Basketball Inserts and Parallels

These cards pass the eye test and look good for the most part. I am pretty sure Prizm is Panini’s take on Topps Finest for that segment of the market. There are a ton of parallels and it really hard to keep track of them all but if I am not mistaken, the blue prizms are retail exclusives. Also in the pack I bought, there are Red, White and Blue Mosaic cards which are retail muti-packs exclusives.

It is nice to pull a Victor Oladipo HRX rookie card. HRX rookie cards have a QR code on the back which unlocks exclusive videos. As I have said in the past, I really think these are the future of trading cards and they make for fun pack breaks.

I also got two Knicks cards for my PC. Ugh, the Knicks… wow has this season been a disaster. Dare I say it as a fan it feels worst than the Isiah Thomas era. Crazy, I know. But back then (which feels like eons ago), the team was horrible but at least there was a glimmer of hope. There were talks of LeBron James and the dream of forming our superteam. Nowadays, the Knicks really can’t make any transactions to fix the team. They don’t have the cap space or any players of note to trade. I can’t even imagine how bad the team would be next year when Melo leaves…

Leave a comment

Filed under Collectibles

Leave a Reply

