2014 Topps Gypsy Queen Box Break

Topps has really, really been big on the retro, throwback sets the last few years or so. Allen & Ginter was not enough so we have Gypsy Queen too. Still to be fair, Gypsy Queen usually makes for fun box breaks but I fully admit I picked up a box of 2014 Topps Gypsy Queen to get my hands on some Masahiro Tanaka rookie cards for my PC…

There are 24 packs per box, 1 mini per pack and 2 relics/ 2 autos per box. Plus there is a hobby exclusive pack of minis which is pretty neat.

2014 Topps Gypsy Queen Box

And I didn’t pull a single Masahiro Tanaka rookie card. But I did pull a couple of card for my PC.

2014 Topps Gypsy Queen Cards for PC

2014 Topps Gypsy Queen Mets

The Choo mini is 19/50. I also pulled a couple of parallels. The black minis are /199 and the Jeter and Ripken Jr parallels are /499 which could be good trade bait I guess.

2014 Topps Gypsy Queen Parallels

My autos and relic cards

Kyle Seager, Patrick Corbin, Julio Teheran Auto Brett Lawrie and Mike Leake Relic

I beat the odds and actually got three autos but I find it hard to be too excited about Kyle Seager, Patrick Corbin or Julio Teheran. The relics of Brett Lawrie and Mike Leake are like meh.

2014 Topps Gypsy Queen has like a billion different inserts, variations and parallels with subsets within subsets. I find myself constantly referring back to the checklist to see what I got. It is a really a pain to go through and organize everything. It already got my box topper minis and regular minis mixed up. It is also a pain to see if I have any reverse image variations of base cards. This of course is not exclusive to Gypsy Queen. #FirstWorldProblems

Again I beat the odds and got 5 hits instead of 4 and pull a couple of decent parallels but I guess I am still down I didn’t pull a single Tanaka card out of all those packs. If there is a star in the pack, it has to be the Choo mini.

Leave a comment

Filed under Collectibles

Leave a Reply

