MTG Brewer: Legacy MUD and the 2014 Red Commander Deck

I have two red commander decks so it was a no brainer to pick up the 2014 red commander deck the day it was released. I picked out all the good commander cards for my Zirilan of the Claw dragon deck and Krenko goblin deck. Some of the remaining cards were Wurmcoil Engine, Myr Battlesphere and Steel Hellkite and it actually inspired to update my old MUD deck.

The red commander deck came with a Goblin Welder so I own 3 welders now so I first tried a red based MUD deck but you have to play Great Furnace and Mountains and I think that playing a sub par mana base it not worth the splash so I went with a mono brown build.

4 Chalice of the Void
4 Lodestone Golem
3 Trinisphere

2 Mox Opal
1 Grim Monolith
4 Metalworker
4 Kuldotha Forgemaster

2 Lightning Greaves
2 Spellskite
1 Phyrexian Metamorph
2 Wurmcoil Engine
1 Steel Hellkite
1 Duplicant
1 Staff of Nin
1 Myr Battlesphere
1 Karn Liberated
1 Platinum Angel
1 Spine of Ish Sah
1 Sundering Titan
1 Blightsteel Colossus

4 Ancient Tomb
1 City of Traitors
4 Cloudpost
4 Glimmerpost
1 Vesuva
4 Darksteel Citadel
2 Cavern of Souls
2 Wasteland

Sideboard:
4 Tormod’s Crypt
4 Phyrexian Revoker
3 Defense Grid
2 Bottled Cloister
2 Ratchet Bomb

Legacy MUD

Sure this deck isn’t the most competitive Legacy deck but this deck is a blast to play. It can generate ridiculous amounts of mana and it can have some explosive draws. I have killed with a Blightsteel Colossus in the third turn. It can also lock out some decks in the first or second turn with cards like Chalice of the Void, Lodestone Golem and Trinisphere.

The mana base is a little weird as I could only fit nine posts. I like 5 sol ring lands so you can do first turn Chalices regularly, I wanted Darksteel Citadels since I am playing a full playset of Kuthdu Forgemasters and finally I shaved down Wastelands and Cavern of Souls but they are both kind of important. Is it right? Probably not but it works for me at the moment and I am still tinkering with the deck.

Is this deck inconsistent? Yes. Is this deck going too many directions? Probably. Is it better without Cloudposts? Likely. But a third turn Blightsteel Colossus kill! (I also have hard casted Blightsteel Colossus a number of times).

Leave a comment

Filed under Magic The Gathering

Leave a Reply

