MTG Repack Break: 2 T-shirts and 2 Packs & Brewing with Jeskai Ascendancy

This repack in K-Mart caught my eye the other day and of course, as usual, I just couldn’t resist.

Magic Cards and Tshirt Repack

It has two Magic themed t-shirts and two Magic packs (1 pack of Return to Ravnica & 1 pack of Khans of Tarkir). The two t-shirt are of the Boros guild and of Chandra. I think they are pretty neat and definitely worth it with the repack priced just over $20.

There wasn’t anything of note in my Return to Ravnica pack. I did get a foil Guild Feud (and the rare in the pack was Palisade Giant which is meh). I did pull another Jeskai Ascendancy in my Khans of Tarkir pack. This is one of my favorite cards printed in the last few years. It has so much combo potential and there are just so many ways to build around this card. In fact, it has seen play in Standard, Modern and Legacy. The new set Fate Reforged is going to add a number of sweet cards to the deck but I wanted to share you my Jeskai Ascendancy list that I have been working with.

Creatures:
4 Monastery Swiftspear
4 Seeker of the Way
4 Raise the Alarm
4 Hordeling Outburst

Burn Spells:
4 Lightning Strike
3 Magma Jet
4 Stoke the Flames (the FNM version of course)
4 Jeskai Charm

Draw and Filtering:
4 Jeskai Ascendancy
3 Treasure Cruise

Lands:
4 Mystic Monastery
4 Temple of Triumph
1 Temple of Enlightenment
2 Mana Confluence
1 Shivan Reef
1 Battlefield Forge
2 Flooded Strand
4 Mountain
2 Plains
1 Island

This is a more aggro version of the Jeskai Ascendancy tokens list with more burn and a lower curve (compared to the stock list). If you get value out of the anthem effect of the Ascendancy that is great but you would be more than happy if you only just get the looting effect so you can draw gas. With Fate Reforged out next week, I am thinking of cutting 4 Monastery Swiftspear and 4 Seeker of the Way for 4 Monastery Mentor and 4 Soulfire Grand Master. The curve would be a bit higher so maybe I would have cut something like a Magma Jet or Jeskai Charm for another land.

Leave a comment

Filed under Magic The Gathering

Leave a Reply

