The Plague: The Most Powerful MTG Theme Deck of All Time

I want to have a little theme deck/ intro deck war with a few of my friends so I am slowly acquiring or building some of the most powerful, some of the weirdest theme decks in Magic history. So far I got the Way of the Warrior a white weenie deck from Champions of Kamigawa built around the bushido mechanic and Bait & Switch from Onslaught which is probably the weirdest theme deck built around changing your opponent creature types to turn on some narrow cards (like a card that destroys target cleric).

Anyways, I had to have The Plague from Urza’s Saga in my theme deck war. It is the answer to the question “what is the most powerful theme deck or intro deck of all time” and I just acquired the last few cards I needed.

The Plague Urza's Saga

It is so rare to have such a fun yet challenging deck released as just a theme deck. It is a combo control deck built around Pestilence. There is so much synergies like Pestilence + protection from black creatures, Pestilence + Pariah, Pestilence + Urza’s Armor, etc. The deck also has a number of cycling cards to help find your key pieces and you eventually win with enough Pestilence triggers.

This deck is easily my pick to win it all since most theme decks are creature based.

Leave a comment

Filed under Magic The Gathering

Leave a Reply

