More Quick Board Game Reviews: King of Tokyo, No Thanks, Rolling America & More!

I am going to start a new job hosting board game nights so I have been demoing games all month! Since the last board game review post was somewhat popular here is another one.

King of Tokyo
King of Tokyo is my favorite game introduced to me so far. It is fun, fast paced, easy to teach and wildly addictive. It also has a great theme (kaiju monsters causing all sorts of mayhem in Tokyo) and I honestly have never seen a game draw in non- gamers as well as this one. King of Tokyo is going to be a staple in all my board game nights and it has rocketed to my favorite game.

King of New York
King of New York takes King of Tokyo and adds a few new interesting mechanics to keep things fresh. It is a bit harder to teach especially to those new to board games but this is an excellent game that I will take out after a group plays King of Tokyo a couple of times.

Rolling America
Rolling America is a hard puzzle game and this is easily my new favorite one person game (although it can be play with a lot more people).

Spaceteam
Spaceteam is a chaotic co-op party game where you try to make sure things are getting done to travel through space. It a perfect ice breaker and filler but I have to warn you there will be a lot of yelling. Along the same lines I want to try Keep Talking and Nobody Explodes, where you need help from your friends to defuse a bomb.

Timeline Challenge
I love Timeline but you can finish a game in like 5 minutes. Sometimes you want a little more. Timeline Challenge adds a lot to the base game. Timeline Challenge is kind of a like Cranium with dates and it is good trivia party game with the right group.

Monster Factory
Monster Factory is tile laying game and it is basically like a super simple Carcassonne. I found the game boring but it can be good with kids.

The X-Files CCG
I love deduction games so I gave this a shot. I got 2 starter decks but if you play with the basic rules the decks are kind of imbalanced since they are semi random and you have to take out a bunch of cards. The core of the game is interesting. You need to send your agents to investigate sites, pass skill checks and from there is it like Clue. I hate the tiny little rule book since it was a chore to read. I didn’t even bother with advance rules but the basic game is mediocre. It may have worked better as a stand alone board game or living card game rather than a Collectible Card Game where cards are random.

No Thanks!
Finally I don’t really like small set collecting card games (there are a lot of them) but I tried No Thanks and it probably the only game in the genre I will play. It is simple but surprisingly strategic.

Games I want to try next:

Pixel Tactics
I don’t know much about this game. I have heard good things and I got it for cheap.

Mr Jack
This seems to be an interesting deduction game that I haven’t played.

Shadows Over Camelot
Shadows Over Camelot is a classic co-op game and it is one game I really want to try out.

Run, Fight or Die!
I heard this game is like King of Tokyo with zombies. I bought the expansion Running Late But We’re Worth It for only $.99. I am looking for a good deal on the base game.

Leave a comment

Filed under Board Games

Leave a Reply

