Some Weird Comics That I Came Across

A few weird comics made my way to my collection recently.

First I came across a familiar name in the comic book store.

Drax 1

This is the first time I was aware of the fact that CM Punk is a writer for Marvel Comics. I googled it and apparently he wrote a few comics for Marvel already but Drax is his first ongoing title. I bought the first issue but I haven’t got the chance to read it yet.

One comic I did read is Scooby Apocalypse #1.

Scooby Apocalypse

DC Comics have been hyping this comics for months and… I don’t like it. I love, love Scooby Doo but this comic was to much of a departure of the characters I grown to love. First and foremost the comics are too dark. Velma is part of an organization looking to end the world??? Fred and Daphne are wash up reporters looking for their big break?? Shaggy is a dog trainer and Scooby is a experiment gone wrong?? This is only a Scooby Doo comic in name only as DC Comics could have easily told the story with brand new characters.

Finally I stumbled upon a tragic X-Men character, ForgetMeNot.

X Force 10

ForgetMeNot’s mutant power is like the Silence in Doctor Who. As soon as anyone looks away from him, they instantly forget about his existence. X-Men: Legacy #300 and X-Force #10 are both excellent comics that I can’t recommend enough. His story arc in X-Force #13- 15 wasn’t as good.

1 Comment

Filed under Collectibles

One response to “Some Weird Comics That I Came Across

  1. I think Scooby Doo Apocalypse can be blamed on the success Archie Comics had with “Afterlife With Archie”… Everybody wanted to do something dark with their nostalgic children’s titles.

    Last week I bought a copy of Future Quest #1, which is a sort of update of many of the Hanna-Barbera cartoons of the 1960’s, but without making it overly dark. For example, Race Bannon (the guy with white hair on Jonny Quest) is given something of a backstory as a Special Ops guy assigned to protect Dr. Quest and his family, but he’s not a Punisher-like psychopath nor Dr. Quest’s gay lover. I won’t say Future Quest is a must-read, but I’m thinking I’ll buy #2 and see where it goes from there… which is a lot more than I’d expected going in.

Leave a Reply

