A Pure Impulse Buy: A Repack with 100 Baseball Cards + 1 Pack

This is a pure impulse buy. It is a repack with 100 baseball cards and 1 pack. I haven’t opened much baseball (or basketball) cards lately and I pretty much got it with just my reward points…

First the pack, a 2012 Panini Triple Play.

panini triple play

I like the art style and there is a bit of trivia, puzzles and a sticker in the pack. Here is a trivia question from one of the cards: Which pitchers had 200 K’s each year from 2008-11? Panini definitely did a great job hiding the fact they can’t use team logos and I get to add the Ichiro puzzle piece to my collection. I never heard of Triple Play before this but I give it a thumbs up as it is a fun pack of cards to open.

As expected the 100 baseball cards in the repack is mostly bulk. But there is a few cards that peaked my interest.

dan seals card

First off country music star Dan Seals sneaked his way in the repack.

bobby valentine mothers cookies

This a Bobby Valentine card from the Mother’s Cookies set.

triple play astros versus dodgers

This is my favorite card. It is some sort of Astros versus Dodgers scratch off game. I wish Topps and Panini could do more stuff like this.

Here are a bunch of other interesting cards offered without comment.

odd baseball cards

It is just me or are there a lot less repacks out there nowadays? I wonder if the supply of bulk cards and bulk packs are finally drying up.

2 Comments

Filed under Collectibles

2 responses to “A Pure Impulse Buy: A Repack with 100 Baseball Cards + 1 Pack

  1. Jon

    It’s not just you, there aren’t nearly as many different kinds of repacks out there as there used to be. Finding Mother’s Cookies cards in these is always a plus.

  2. The Stevens and Flannery cards are definitely keepers.

Leave a Reply

