My Haul from New York Comic Con 2017 | Tons of Board Games!

This year, I can’t say New York Comic Con was a lot less crowded but I can say it was noticeably less crowded which is a good thing. Anyways, I went in looking for good deals for board games and I have a huge stack of games sitting right next to me.

I love mystery boxes and a booth was selling one with board games and card games. I couldn’t resist.

Evil Genius Save the Cupcake

I got Evil Genius Deathray along with an expansion and a tiny card game called Save the Cupcake in it. Evil Genius Deathray does not look like a good game. It feels like a bad Munchkin and I hate Munchkin. Save the Cupcake on the hand looks like a good quick 2 player card game. It is actually quite fun and interestingly enough it hasn’t had a retail release yet.

Innovation Red 7

You know how I said I couldn’t resist a good mystery box well… I bought another one on the last day of comic con. This one was a Carl Chudyk themed box. It had Innovation, Innovation: Artifacts of History expansion and Red 7. I don’t know much about these games but at first glance they both have elements of Fluxx. These games have a good rating on Board Game Geek so I am interested in trying these out.

Dancing Dice Le Boomb

Betrayal at Baldurs Gate

Tuchulcha

I got this push your luck dice game, Dancing Dice for $3 and Le Boomb for free. It was bundled with Betrayal at Baldur’s Gate (with promos) and Tuchulcha which my brother bought. Dancing Dice is high on my to try list. I like push your luck, Yahtzee like dice games and this seems like a nice twist to the usual formula. Le Boomb is barely a game but it could be an interesting way to determine who goes first in a game. Betrayal at Baldur’s Gate is the new hotness in the board gaming world. It is a D&D reskinning of Betrayal at the House on the Hill, one of my favorite games. Finally Tuchulcha has really, really boring box. Looked it up and it is a fancy Parcheesi like game. Not really my thing.

Tak Signed

Finally I got this copy of Tak, signed by Pat Rothfuss. This is probably the coolest item I got in New York Comic Con this year. Tak is 2 player abstract game that is quick to teach and a lifetime to master. I usually avoid abstract games but I played this game a couple of times and I loved it. Throw Pat Rothfuss (my favorite author at the moment) in the mix and it was a no brainer.

I also bought a bunch of comics but wow that is a lot of games!

Leave a comment

Filed under Board Games, Collectibles

Leave a Reply

