Some Awesome Board Games I Found in Thrift Stores

I was recently introduced to the world of thrifting and the thrift stores in New York City. It is (in my opinion) the closest you can get in the modern world to digging for treasure. I really do enjoy the thrill of the hunt and reading other people’s thrift store hauls on reddit. So it about time to share some awesome board games I found in thrift stores.

Ingenius

My best find has to be Ingenius for less than $5 after discounts. It is pretty much brand new. I don’t usually like abstract strategy games but Ingenius is quickly becoming one of my favorite games in my collection. It is a tile laying game and how you place your tile each turn will score points in one or two of six colors. What is clever or dare I say ingenius about this game is you only score the points of your worst performing color. So you can’t go all in in just one or two colors. I highly recommend this game.

Rush Hour Puzzle

I got Rush Hour Deluxe Edition for $4. The box is a little banged up and it is missing two cards but everything else is there. This is a puzzle where you have to get you car out of a traffic jam. I got through the easy scenarios but I am having some problems solving even the intermediate puzzles. Rush Hour is probably the most well known game of the Thinkfun puzzle line and I also recommend Roller Coaster Challenge if you ever come across it.

Emoji Cards

Finally I got this party game, Emoji Cards for $3. I actually came back for it because I was surprised Tom Vasal of the Dice Tower gave a positive review for the game. It doesn’t look like much but it is Charades meets the game, Concept. I am also brainstorming a variant for this game. It is still in the testing phase but as a little teaser it can be best described as a reverse Codenames.

What have been some of your best thrift shop finds? In the past, I have also gotten Carcassonne for $5, Ascension for $5, Qwirkle for $1, Stonehenge with the expansion for $10 and Tsuro for $5 at a used bookstore but unfortunately they don’t sell games anymore.

Leave a comment

Filed under Board Games

Leave a Reply

