A Song For Every Day of the Week

My friend and I are kind of trivia buffs (honestly he usually beats me in like every trivia game out there but I can beat like anyone else though). Recently he challenged me to name a song for every day of the week and I might as well share my list with you. So let’s see…

Sunday Bloody Sunday – U2

I hate to start the week with a downer but it is the only Sunday song I know.

Maniac Monday – The Bangles

The same friend and I are huge fans of 80’s music too so this is a no brainer.

Ruby Tuesday – Rollings Stones

He actually never hear of this song. SMH.

Wednesday Morning – America

Well this is the point where I tell you I failed the challenge. This is the only day of the week I couldn’t name a song. I had to google it and I just threw out America’s Wednesday Morning to this list randomly for the sake of completion. My friend named a Elton John song with Wednesday.

Thursday – Asobi Seksu

My love of shoegazing and dream pop gave me Asobi Seksu’s Thursday. Thursday is the only day of the week that my friend couldn’t name a song for so I guess we’re tied this round.

Friday I’m In Love – The Cure

What? You thought I was going with Rebecca Black’s Friday? Hell no.

Saturday Night – Bay City Rollers

A classic.

3 Comments

Filed under Music

3 responses to “A Song For Every Day of the Week

  1. handcollated

    I tried this a while back. I had “Monday Monday” by the Mamas and the Papas, “Thursday” by Morphine, “Friday” by Joe Jackson, and “Saturday Night” by the Bay City Rollers in addition to your Sunday and Tuesday choices. “Sunday Morning Coming Down” is a good song, too, but not exactly uplifting, either. Wednesday stumped me as well.

    A new challenge could be bands that feature days of the week, although I’d be surprised if there wasn’t a band simply named after each one.

    • Totally forgot about Monday, Monday by the Mamas and the Papas. Now that is a classic. Got to check out Thursday, Friday and Sunday Morning Coming Down when I get back home.

      And wow I’m not doing so good recalling bands for each day of the week. I got to give this some serious thought and resist googling it.

  2. I’ll dig deeper, but my first thought was Phil Keaggy’sSunday’s Child.

Leave a comment